Panamericana 2013

… somewhere between Alaska and Tierra del Fuego

By

On our way to Mexico!

CameraZOOM-20131105154029278

Big Sur !

We say goodbye with a laughing and a crying eye to Simon and Rachel. We really enjoyed our time here and we are very, very grateful for the spontaneous hospitality and accommodation! We will now head towards Mexico. We are very excited to see a new country and culture. Our drive along Highway Number 1 is beautiful. I think this is one of the most beautiful views California has to offer.
Read more

By

San Francisco Part II

_MG_6066

Golden Gate

On Thursday we bought tickets for Alcatraz. We sail to the island with the ferry and recognize, that Alcatraz is not as close as it looks. When we arrived, we picked up the audio tour. You get headphones with a very good and authentic story and explanations about Alcatraz. After 2 hours you have walked all around.
Read more

By

Fun in San Francisco. Part I

CameraZOOM-20131030125743140

We cycled the Golden Gate!

Yosemite NP was our last NP in USA. Our next destination is San Francisco. Thanks to my ex-work colleague we have a contact in Alameda, a suburb of SF and thus a possible place for the night. In addition, a “Childhood neighbor” lives in San Francisco and we can also come and see him and his wife. Without any contacts, it is difficult to find a place for the night in SF.
We make contact with Scott, the colleague of my ex-work colleague and make a date for tonight at his home.
Read more

By

Yosemite Nationalpark. We increase our sportsmanship.

CameraZOOM-20131024145545189

Yeah! We made it! Now, back down.

We took the Tioga pass with 3.031m to get into Yosemite National Park. We liked to hike here and drove straight to the visitor center to ask about all trails.
Our first idea was climbing the “Half Dome”. A very famous rock here. This is a trail of about 25km and almost 1.500m elevation. This will beat our last elevation of 900m in Grand Canyon 😉
Read more

By

Viva Las Vegas and Death Valley NP

_MG_5776-2

New York New York Hotel

We reached a suburb of Las Vegas at dusk and we were desperately looking for a place for the night. Walmart was our plan. The goofy part – Camping on Walmart is not allowed here. We headed to the next and next Walmart and Yay! we were allowed to stay finally. Before we went to bed, we watched a DVD and recognized later that we are camping just next to the runway of the airport.
Read more

By

Grand Canyon. We become sporty.

IMG_1443

Let’s go for 16km and 900m elevation.

Yuhu, the Nationalparks reopened. That meant we could see “Grand Canyon”. After so many hours of driving in the car we wanted to hike and walk. In the visitor center we heard that the “Bright Angel” trail is the most popular trail and very nice. This are 16km and 900m elevation. We were not sure if we can make it cause we were not really trained but we would try 🙂

The next morning at 9 AM we left our camp to get back in the light.

Read more

Panamericana 2013

… irgendwo zwischen Alaska und Feuerland

By

Auf nach Mexiko!

CameraZOOM-20131105154029278

Big Sur !

Wir verabschieden uns mit einem lachenden und einem weinenden Auge von Simon und Rachel. Wir haben die Zeit hier sehr genossen und sind euch sehr, sehr dankbar für die spontane Gastfreundschaft und Unterkunft! Für uns heißt es nun: Ab in den Süden, Mexiko ruft! Wir sind sehr gespannt was uns erwartet. Über den Highway 1 fahren wir südwärts und sehen Kalifornien von einer der schönsten Seiten.
Weiterlesen

By

San Francisco Teil II

_MG_6066

Golden Gate

Für Donnerstag haben wir Alcatraz Tickets gekauft. Mit der Fähre schippern wir langsam auf die Insel zu. Die ist doch nicht so nah, wie es vom Land aussieht. Dort angekommen, holen wir uns die Audio Tour, also die Kopfhörer in deutscher Sprache ab und werden per Stimme im Ohr durch das Gefängnis geführt.
Weiterlesen

By

Spaß in San Francisco. Teil I

CameraZOOM-20131030125743140

We cycled the Golden Gate!

Der Yosemite NP war unser letzter NP. Das nächste Ziel ist San Francisco. Über einen Ex-Arbeitskollegen haben wir einen Kontakt in Alameda, einem Vorort von SF und damit einen möglichen Übernachtungsplatz. Außerdem wohnt ein “Kindheits Nachbar” in San Francisco, wo wir ebenfalls unterkommen können. Ansonsten wird es schwierig in der Metropole einen Nachtplatz zu finden.
Wir knüpfen Kontakt zu Scott, dem Kollegen meines Ex-Kollegen und verabreden uns für heute Abend bei ihm zu Hause.
Weiterlesen

By

Yosemite Nationalpark. Wir steigern unsere Sportlichkeit.

CameraZOOM-20131024145545189

Geschafft! Nun geht’s wieder nach unten.

Über den 3.031m hohen Tioga Gebirgspass geht’s in den Yosemite Nationalpark bis ins Visitor Center. Wir wollen uns mal wieder sportlich betätigen, also erkundigen wir uns über die Trails im Park.
Unsere Idee: Der Halfdome. Das ist ein Trail von etwa 25 km Wegstrecke und annähernd 1.500 Höhenmetern. Wir wollen die 900 Höhenmeter des Grand Canyon Trails toppen 😉
Weiterlesen

By

Viva Las Vegas und Death Valley NP

_MG_5776-2

New York New York Hotel

Wir erreichen einen Vorort von Las Vegas in der Dämmerung und suchen verzweifelt nach einem Nachtplatz. Walmart war unser Plan. Doof, dass campen hier ausnahmsweise mal nicht erlaubt ist. Wir steuern den Nächsten und den Nächsten an. Beim Dritten wird es erlaubt. Juhuu. Wir parken, holen den Laptop raus und gucken eine DVD. Als wir später das Zelt aufklappen registrieren wir, dass wir direkt neben dem Rollfeld des Flughafens parken.
Weiterlesen

By

Grand Canyon. Wir werden sportlich.

IMG_1443

Auf uns warten 16km und 900 Höhenmeter.

Juhu, die Nationalparks sind wieder geöffnet. Wir können also den “Grand Canyon” sehen. Nach dem vielen Auto fahren wollen wir uns bewegen und erkundigen uns im Visitor Center nach Trails. Einer der beliebtesten Trails ist der “Bright Angel Trail” mit 16km Länge und 900 Höhenmetern. Wir sind gespannt ob wir das schaffen. Unsere Ausdauer ist nicht wirklich up to date 😉
Morgen früh um 9 Uhr wollen wir loslaufen um noch bei Helligkeit zurück zu kommen.
Weiterlesen