Panamericana 2013

… somewhere between Alaska and Tierra del Fuego

By

Ruins, Ruins, Ruins

aabbcc006-2

Ruine Xpujil

After we visited the lakes and rivers we needed to get some Maya culture. Our plan was to visit the ruins. As the the ruin “Calakmul” was far away, we needed to take a break and stay overnight at a restaurant. The owner was a nice, elderly man who was very talkative. When I asked him how much the camping for one night costs he said: “Pay whatever you like!” He showed us his pets: A dog without name, two peacocks, some pigs and “Catalina”, a super cute monkey lady who lives here since 20 years.

Unfortunately she is on a short leash and can’t have a run.

aabbcc001

She was so cute and wanted…

aabbcc002

…to get pet.

aabbcc004

Yummy breakfast!

aabbcc003

Amazing. These look more or less like our hands.

aabbcc001-2

Next morning we headed towards “Calakmul” and found another ruin just after some km. It’s Balamkú. We were very early and nobody was here. This might have been the reason that Lissy was allowed to come, too? Whatever, we were happy to visit the ruin together. Balamkú is a rather small ruin which became famous due to the well-preserved moulding which was discovered in 1990.

aabbcc002-2

Climbing up…

aabbcc001-3

…we made it!

aabbcc003-2

And climbing down. Ruin sports!

aabbcc007

It’s not always pyramids.

aabbcc004-2

The building with the moulding out of modelled stucco…

aabbcc006

…impressive!

aabbcc005

It’s difficult for us to realize what creatures all these are supposed to be.

After that we drove to “Calakmul” which was one of the largest and most powerful ancient cities ever uncovered in the Maya lowlands. Today it’s 60km off the highway directly in the jungle. It took us 1,5 hours to reach the entrance as the road became very narrow. Once there we got to know that (sure) dogs are not allowed. Okay, this time we needed to tie Lissy here because after this long drive we sure wanted to see the ruin. The man at the entrance was really nice and willing to help watching Lissy and giving her some treats every now and then.

aabbcc002-4

Impressive high pyramids @ Calakmul

aabbcc001-4

It’s soo hot, I will wait downstairs 😉

aabbcc004-3

aabbcc003-3

Jan does not care about the heat…

aabbcc002-3

..he runs upstairs and enjoys the view.

Okay. We did see enough. It was hot!!! We walked back to the entrance and already heard Lissy howling and saw that she was tied on another place. Her “dog sitter” told us that she was howling all the time (which was 1,5hours) and that the destroyed all the plants – that was why he needed to tie her next to the building. Lissy nearly became a heart attack when she saw us. Well, she really has to learn to be alone! The poor man who might be deaf now got a small tip and we headed back on the main road. We actually wanted to reach Chetumal but it was too late already. We found a good Pemex gas station to stay overnight. It was for free and also had showers and clean restrooms.

Next morning we were awake early and passed a ruin sign “Xpujil”. As the ruin was directly next to the street we turned and also visited this one. Again, nobody was there yet and Lissy was allowed to come. Maybe this is the trick: Visit the ruin early and dogs are welcome. We liked this place – it’s different that the other ruins we saw. It’s characterized by the “Rio Bec” style but as we both are only interested to SEE the ruins, we do not have any background knowledge at all. It’s just amazing to see what the Mayas did so many thousand years ago.

aabbcc007-2

Xpujil

aabbcc005-3

Xpujil

aabbcc001-7

Hey! Jan went into the black hole here…

aabbcc003-5

…to do some yoga up there?

 aabbcc001-6

aabbcc002-5

The secret side door.

aabbcc006-2

Wow!

aabbcc004-4

“Let’s go! Come down!”

Panamericana 2013

… irgendwo zwischen Alaska und Feuerland

By

Ruinen, Ruinen, Ruinen

aabbcc006-2

Ruine Xpujil

Nach der vielen Seen und Flüsse steht nun ein wenig Maya Kultur auf dem Plan: Ruinen anschauen. Der Weg zu unserem Ziel: “Calakmul” ist weit und wir übernachten vor einem Restaurant auf halber Strecke. Der Inhaber ist ein netter, älterer Mann. Er nennt keinen Preis für die Übernachtung sondern er sagt “zahlt was es euch wert ist”. Wir lernen seine Haustiere kennen: Ein Hund ohne Namen zwei Pfaue, mehrere Schweine und “Catalina” eine super niedliche Affen Dame die schon seit 20 Jahren bei ihm lebt.

Leider ist sie an einer kurzen Leine angebunden und hat kaum Auslauf.

aabbcc001

Wenn sie uns den Rücken zudreht…

aabbcc002

…ist es die Aufforderung sie zu streicheln.

aabbcc004

Lecker Frühstück!

aabbcc003

Wahnsinn! Fast wie unsere Hand.

aabbcc001-2

Wir fahren weiter und finden schon nach weniger Kilometern die erste Ruine: Balamkú. Wir sind früh dran, außer uns ist niemand hier.Vielleicht ist deswegen Lissy erlaubt? Egal, wir freuen uns auf einen Ruinenbesuch zu dritt. Balamkú ist eine eher kleine Ruinenstadt der Maya die durch einen 1990 entdeckten, gut erhaltenen Wandfries berühmt wurde.

aabbcc002-2

Erst hoch…

aabbcc001-3

…geschafft!

aabbcc003-2

Und dann wieder runter.

aabbcc007

Nicht überall sind Pyramiden.

aabbcc004-2

Das Gebäude mit dem Fries aus modelliertem und bemaltem Stuck…

aabbcc006

…beeindruckend!

aabbcc005

Was auch immer die Zeichen sein sollen.

Weiter geht es zur nächsten Ruine “Calakmul”. Diese war während der klassischen Periode eine mächtige Stadt der Maya und liegt heute 60km abseits der Hauptstraßen. Es dauert 1,5 Stunden bis wir den Eingang erreichen. Dort erfahren wir, wie sollte es anders sein, dass Hunde nicht erlaubt sind. Mist! Diesmal müssen wir Lissy hier anbinden, da sind wir uns einig. Immerhin sind wir die lange Strecke nur gefahren um die Ruine zu sehen. Der nette Mann am Eingang erklärt sich bereit Lissy immer mal wieder ein paar Leckerlies zu geben. Er winkt uns mit einer hektischen Handbewegung zu den Ruinen und gesellt sich zu Lissy.

aabbcc002-4

Beeindruckend hohe Pyramiden!

aabbcc001-4

Es ist soo heiß. Ich warte unten 😉

aabbcc004-3

Nicht mehr ganz so gut erhalten.

aabbcc003-3

Jan ist tapfer und rennt ganz nach oben!

aabbcc002-3

Es war zwar HEIß aber es hat sich gelohnt.

Genug gesehen. Wir laufen zurück zum Eingang. Wir hören Lissy schon heulen und sehen dann, dass sie an einem andern Platz angebunden ist. Der “Hundesitter” sitzt bei ihr. Sie habe die ganzen 1,5 Std geheult und außerdem die Pflanzen zerstört. Deswegen habe er sie ans Gebäude angebunden, erklärt er. Lissy bekommt fast nen Herzinfarkt als wir sie begrüßen – das “allein sein” muss noch gelernt werden! Der nette Mann bekommt ein kleines Trinkgeld und wir tuckern die 60km zurück. Eigentlich wollten wir heute noch in Chetumal ankommen, aber es ist schon spät. Wir finden eine gute Pemex Tankstelle und übernachten hier. Gratis! Inkl. Duschen und sauberen Toiletten.

Am nächsten Morgen halten wir schnell bei der Ruine “Xpujil”. Diese liegt direkt neben der Hauptstraße und auch hier sind für früh dran, es ist niemand da. Das ist der Trick! Früh zu den Ruinen, dann dürfen scheinbar auch die Hunde mit. Zumindest klappt es auch dieses mal. Die Ruine gefällt uns sehr gut, sie ist -weshalb auch immer- anders als die Anderen. Sie ist durch den “Rio Bec” Stil geprägt. Da wir beide nur zum Gucken zu den Ruinen gehen, haben wir kein großes Hintergrundwissen. Es ist einfach immer wieder unfassbar, was die Mayas vor so vielen Tausend Jahren erschaffen haben.

aabbcc007-2

Xpujil

aabbcc005-3

Xpujil

aabbcc001-7

Hey! Jan ist hier in das schwarze Loch rein und jetzt…

aabbcc003-5

…sitz er da oben und macht Yoga?

 aabbcc001-6

aabbcc002-5

Die geheime Seitentür…

aabbcc006-2

Wow!

aabbcc004-4

“Los! Jetzt komm da wieder runter!”