Panamericana 2013

… somewhere between Alaska and Tierra del Fuego

By

San Francisco Part II

_MG_6066

Golden Gate

On Thursday we bought tickets for Alcatraz. We sail to the island with the ferry and recognize, that Alcatraz is not as close as it looks. When we arrived, we picked up the audio tour. You get headphones with a very good and authentic story and explanations about Alcatraz. After 2 hours you have walked all around.

The tour is very good. Due to the original voices (only in the English audio tour – in the German version you can only sometimes hear the english voices) and the original sounds you can get a small idea of the life on Alcatraz.

IMG_5907

Looks real…

IMG_5910

… but it’s just a small simulation.

IMG_5915  IMG_5914

CameraZOOM-20131031111641768

Poster at the entrance.

_MG_6274

Cell next to cell…

_MG_6220

… cold, uncomfortable and scary.

_MG_6182

View from the courtyard…

_MG_6175

…but no chance getting out of here.

_MG_6171

That’s it. Nothing more.

 

_MG_6226

One of the luxury cells.

_MG_6150

The watchtower.

_MG_6147  _MG_6094

After the tour we take the BART back to Walnut Creek, get our car and drive to Alameda to visit Scott. We are invited to celebrate Halloween with them. “This is always a lot of fun.”, Shalea said one day. When we arrive at Scotts house, Shalea sits in front of their house – dressed up like everybody else in town – and gives sweets to the kids. They always climb up the stairs and ask “Trick or Treat”? Shalea wishes a happy Halloween and puts Twix, Snickers or chewy candy into their bags.

_MG_6312

Trick or Treat?

_MG_6294

Some kids really look creepy with their horrible masks.

_MG_6316

Kids leave the house with a smile.

Tonight, we stay at Scotts house in the garden and get invited to go climbing the next morning. “Oh jaa! Nice idea!”, Jan and I think. The bad thing is, I am totally out of practice and hardly get up the wall. It was a little depressing. But on the other hand, where should the power come from? However, Jan makes a really good job climbing up very easy.

CameraZOOM-20131101132214371

Not too bad 😉

After climbing we got back to Simon and Rachel. We are invited to a seafood dinner with friends in SF downtown. We have mussels for starter – a dream!!! The entree was fish which was delicious and our dessert was a sweet, yummy Apfelstrudel with ice cream. Thank you so much. It was a great evening!

_MG_6368

Dinner in SF downtown. Brillant view to the Bay Bridge

For the weekend, we may borrow the car of Simon, a Mustang convertible. Jan has fun and steps on the gas. We drive to “Half Moon Bay” and then on Highway 1 to Santa Cruz which was is pretty nice drive.
On Sunday we go to Sausaltio, to a viewpoint of the Golden Gate and drive down windy Lombard Street.

_MG_6414

Yeah! Changed car 😉

_MG_6382

Half Moon Bay…

_MG_6394

…unfortunately, too cold to swim.

_MG_6401

Half Moon Bay

IMG_5977

Fair in Santa Cruz.

_MG_6420

This fair is here all year.

_MG_6424

Bach Volleyball at evening hour.

IMG_5993

Lombard Street

_MG_6454

San Francisco at night.

 CameraZOOM-20131103163232087

We’ve had one of our best weeks in San Francisco! Many thanks to Simon and Rachel, Scott and Shalea!

Panamericana 2013

… irgendwo zwischen Alaska und Feuerland

By

San Francisco Teil II

_MG_6066

Golden Gate

Für Donnerstag haben wir Alcatraz Tickets gekauft. Mit der Fähre schippern wir langsam auf die Insel zu. Die ist doch nicht so nah, wie es vom Land aussieht. Dort angekommen, holen wir uns die Audio Tour, also die Kopfhörer in deutscher Sprache ab und werden per Stimme im Ohr durch das Gefängnis geführt.

Die Tour ist sehr gut. Durch die Originalstimmen (nur in der Englischen Audio Tour – in der deutschen Version kann man nur manchmal die englischen Stimmen hören) und die Originalgeräusche bekommt man eine kleine Ahnung vom “Leben” auf Alcatraz.

IMG_5907

Sieht aus wie echt…

IMG_5910

… ist aber nur eine kleine Nachbildung.

IMG_5915  IMG_5914

CameraZOOM-20131031111641768

Poster am Eingang.

_MG_6274

Zelle neben Zelle…

_MG_6220

…kalt, ungemütlich und unheimlich

_MG_6182

Ausblick auf die Golden Gate…

_MG_6175

…aber keine Chance hier raus zu kommen.

_MG_6171

Mehr gibt’s nicht.

 

_MG_6226

“Luxus Zelle”

_MG_6150

Der Wachturm.

_MG_6147  _MG_6094

Nach der Tour fahren wir mit der BART zurück nach Walnut Creek und mit dem Auto weiter nach Alameda zu Scott. Wir sind eingeladen uns das Halloween Fest anzugucken, es sei immer ne Menge Spaß. Als wir bei Scott ankommen sitzt Shalea, ebenfalls verkleidet wie alle Anderen auf den Straßen, oben vorm Haus und verteilt aus einer großen Schale Süßigkeiten an die Kids. “Trick or Treat” ist deren Frage worauf Twix, Snickers oder Kaubonbons in deren Tüten landen.

_MG_6312

Trick or Treat?

_MG_6294

Manche Kids sehen wirklich gruselig aus.

_MG_6316

Die Kinder verlassen mit einem Lachen das Haus.

Wir übernachten erneut bei Scott im Garten und werden am nächsten morgen in die Kletterhalle eingeladen. “Cool, mal wieder klettern.”, denke ich. Doof ist nur, dass ich total aus der Übung bin und kaum die Wand hochkomme. Es war ein wenig deprimierend… aber OK woher soll die Kraft kommen? Jan macht sich hingegen ganz gut!

CameraZOOM-20131101132214371

Jan klettert so gut wie nie 😉

Nach der kleinen sportlichen Einlage fahren wir zurück zu Simon und Rachel. Wir sind zu einem Meeresfrüchte-Abend bei Freunden in SF Downtown eingeladen.  Die Muscheln sind ein Traum. Der Fisch ist super! und der Nachtisch köstlich! Vielen, vielen Dank! Es war ein toller Abend.

_MG_6368

Beim Abendessen genießen wir außerdem den genialen Ausblick auf die Bay Bridge.

Fürs Wochenende dürfen wir uns das Auto von Simon ausleihen, einen Mustang Cabrio. Jan hat Spaß und düst los. Erst zum Half Moon Bay und dann auf dem Highway 1 bis nach Santa Cruz.
Am Sonntag fahren wir nach Sausaltios und zu einem Aussichtspunkt der Golden Gate sowie zur Lombard Street.

_MG_6414

Yeah! Wir machen ne Cabri Tour 😉

_MG_6382

Half Moon Bay…

_MG_6394

…leider ist es zu kalt zum Baden.

_MG_6401

Half Moon Bay

IMG_5977

Jahrmarkt in Santa Cruz.

_MG_6420

Der Jahrmarkt ist immer hier an Ort und Stelle.

_MG_6424

Bach Volleyball in den Abendstunden.

IMG_5993

Lombard Street

_MG_6454

San Francisco am Abend.

 CameraZOOM-20131103163232087

Wir hatten eine der besten Wochen in San Francisco ! Vielen, vielen Dank an Simon und Rachel, Scott und Shalea!