Panamericana 2013

… somewhere between Alaska and Tierra del Fuego

By

Fun in San Francisco. Part I

CameraZOOM-20131030125743140

We cycled the Golden Gate!

Yosemite NP was our last NP in USA. Our next destination is San Francisco. Thanks to my ex-work colleague we have a contact in Alameda, a suburb of SF and thus a possible place for the night. In addition, a “Childhood neighbor” lives in San Francisco and we can also come and see him and his wife. Without any contacts, it is difficult to find a place for the night in SF.
We make contact with Scott, the colleague of my ex-work colleague and make a date for tonight at his home.

We meet his wife Shalea and their two children Skyler and Ben. At the weekend, Skyler will celebrate her big “Bat Mitzvah” party and the preparations are in full swing. Also, their house gets spontaneously renovated, the food for 100 guests planned – Shalea cooks herself – and the garden gets prepared.
Although the family has all hands full to do, we were very welcome to stay, park in the garden and set up the tent.
The next morning we get a nice breakfast. Shalea makes delicious Pannekoken (?There are not the typical pancakes, but what exactly it is… I do not know). We sit in the garden and talk about the trip. Later we drive from Alameda to Walnut Creek, also a suburb of SF and visit Simon, my “Childhood neighbour ” 😉 . It’s nice to see him again after 16 years ! He shows us Walnut Creek – for our taste this is a very nice , medium-sized city .

Simon and his wife Rachel let us live in their guest room for a whole week. We enjoy again the luxury of a kitchen, a bed and bathroom. We feel almost like home and spend a great week together. While Simon and Rachel have to work during the week we explore SF and just spend the evenings together.

With the BART (metro from SF) we arrive within 30 minutes in SF downtown. It may cost a few dollars, but saves driving hours during rush hour and also, we do not need to find parking space. Our first day in SF we walk around the City.

IMG_5851

Unfortunately we did not take a cable car ride.

IMG_5859

China Town

IMG_5862

IMG_5943

BART

IMG_5854

Favorite Cable Car of SF.

IMG_5857

Streets of San Francisco

IMG_5875

Coit Tower…

IMG_5882

…murals all over the place.

IMG_5893

View from Coit Tower to Alcatraz.

IMG_5870

Alcatraz

CameraZOOM-20131028151728788

Perfect view of SF.

_MG_6142

Coit Tower

After we stretched our legs yesterday, we borrow bikes for Wednesday. We start our tour at the ferry terminal, cycle across the Golden Gate to Sausalito and Tiburon and jump on the ferry there which brings us back to the place we started. The weather could not have been any better!

_MG_6007

Let’s go!

_MG_6006

Pier 39

IMG_5941

The famous sea lions of Pier 39

IMG_5936

Pier 39

_MG_6009

The water is coooold! See the swimmer there.

_MG_6036

Doggie beach

_MG_6049

Golden Gate!

_MG_6055

“high five”

_MG_6041

Wow, not too bad…

_MG_6063

…Promenade to the Golden Gate.

_MG_6082

IMG_6083

ufff… just hills!

Panamericana 2013

… irgendwo zwischen Alaska und Feuerland

By

Spaß in San Francisco. Teil I

CameraZOOM-20131030125743140

We cycled the Golden Gate!

Der Yosemite NP war unser letzter NP. Das nächste Ziel ist San Francisco. Über einen Ex-Arbeitskollegen haben wir einen Kontakt in Alameda, einem Vorort von SF und damit einen möglichen Übernachtungsplatz. Außerdem wohnt ein “Kindheits Nachbar” in San Francisco, wo wir ebenfalls unterkommen können. Ansonsten wird es schwierig in der Metropole einen Nachtplatz zu finden.
Wir knüpfen Kontakt zu Scott, dem Kollegen meines Ex-Kollegen und verabreden uns für heute Abend bei ihm zu Hause.

Wir lernen seine Frau Shalea und die beiden Kinder Skyler und Ben kennen. Seine Tochter Skyler feiert am Wochenende ihr großes Bat Mitzwa Fest und die Vorbereitungen sind in vollen Zügen. Das Haus wird spontan renoviert, das Essen für 100 Gäste geplant -Shalea kocht selsbt- und der Garten vorbereitet.
Obwohl die Familie alle Hände voll zu tun hat, werden ganz lieb empfangen und dürfen im Garten parken und das Zelt aufschlagen.
Am nächsten Morgen gibt es ein gemeinsames Frühstück. Shalea macht lecker Pannekoken (? es sind nicht die typischen Pfannkuchen, aber was es genau ist, weiß ich auch nicht), wir sitzen im Garten und erzählen von der Reise. Später fahren wir von Alameda nach Walnut Creek, ebenfalls ein Vorort von SF und besuchen Simon, meinen “Kindheits Nachbarn” ;). Es ist schön, sich nach 16 Jahren wieder zu sehen! Er zeigt uns Walnut Creek – eine, für unseren Geschmack, sehr schöne, mittelgroße Stadt.

Simon und seine Frau Rachel lassen uns für eine ganze Woche in ihrem Gästezimmer wohnen. Wir genießen mal wieder den Luxus einer Küche, einem Bett und Bad. Wir werden super lieb aufgenommen, fühlen uns fast wie zu Hause und verbringen eine tolle Woche zusammen. Zwar gehen Somin und Rachel tagsüber arbeiten, aber abends sitzen wir oft zusammen.

Mit der BART (Metro von SF) kommen wir innerhalb von 30 Minuten in die City. Das kostet zwar ein paar Dollar, erspart aber die Fahrerei im Berufsverkehr und Parkplatzsuche. Unseren ersten Tag in SF verbringen wir zu Fuß in der City.

IMG_5851

Irgendwie haben wir’s verpasst mit dem Cabelcar zu fahren

IMG_5859

China Town

IMG_5862

IMG_5943

BART

IMG_5854

Das beliebte Cable Car in SF.

IMG_5857

Straßen von San Francisco

IMG_5875

Im Coit Tower…

IMG_5882

…überall an den Wänden sind tolle Wandmalereien.

IMG_5893

Aussicht auf Alcaraz vom Coit Tower

IMG_5870

Alcatraz

CameraZOOM-20131028151728788

Super Blick auf die Stadt

_MG_6142

Coit Tower

Nachdem wir uns Dienstags die Beine vertreten haben, leihen wir uns für Mittwoch Fahrräder aus. Wir starten die Tour am Fährterminal, fahren über die Golden Gate nach Sausalito und weiter nach Tiburon. Von dort nehmen wir die Fähre zurück zum Fährterminal. Das Wetter kann besser nicht sein!

_MG_6007

Los geht’s!

_MG_6006

Pier 39

IMG_5941

Die bekannten Seelöwen von Pier 39

IMG_5936

Pier 39

_MG_6009

Man beachte den Schwimmer! Das Wasser ist Saukalt!

_MG_6036

Hunde Strand vor der Golden Gate.

_MG_6049

Golden Gate!

_MG_6055

Bitte abklatschen.

_MG_6041

Nicht schlecht…

_MG_6063

…Promenade zur Golden Gate.

_MG_6082

IMG_6083

Man man NUR Berge 😉